sesame soba and ribboned omelet salad

sesame soba and ribboned omelet salad

In times of lots of worry and little sleep, like most of us, I return to my comforts and staples: avocado toast, a great pot of meatballs, and as many ways as I can find to intersect noodles and eggs. While I am fairly certain I could live off this fiery, crunchy spaghetti pangrattato with crispy eggs for the rest of my life, as bits of spring have been in the air, I am always ready for fresh takes on cold noodles.

what you'll need

blending sesame seeds to paste

Flipping through Heidi Swanson’s wonderful Near & Far a few weeks ago, I became entranced with the cold soba salad in part for the ingredients but really it was the footnote at the end that stayed with me: “Serve topped with a poached egg or an omelet sliced into a whispery-thin chiffonade.” Whispery-thin chiffonade. Could anything be so lovely? I imagined the strands of eggs tangling with the strands of noodles, punctuated with a sesame-seed flecked sauce and crispy raw vegetables and I needed it in my life.

whisky whisky

… Read the rest of sesame soba and ribboned omelet salad on smittenkitchen.com


© smitten kitchen 2006-2012. |

permalink to sesame soba and ribboned omelet salad | 19 comments to date | see more: Japanese, Photo, Put An Egg On It, Salad, Summer, Vegetarian, Weeknight Favorite

Leave a Reply

