belgian brownie cakelets

fancies

Almost 10 years ago, when I was a child-free, single-chinned (bah) newlywed and this site was 6 weeks old, I passingly mentioned making the Belgian brownies they serve at Le Pain Quotidien. They were as delicious as should be expected from something that\’s nothing but chocolate, butter, sugar, eggs and a smidge of flour. However, I never made them after that because, ever the pedant, to me they weren\’t real brownies. Brownies are dense, fudgy and even a little chewy and these were featherlight and rich. I don\’t know what\’s wrong with me either.

what you\'ll need

melty, buttery chocolate

These might have stayed in the substratum of the archives forever had my husband\’s attempts to save me from hospital food after the arrival of this butterfly last summer included regular deliveries of Cobb salads and the aforementioned Belgian brownie at the LPQ by the hospital. I actually said “Oh, that brownie is never as good as it seems like it\’s going to be” before taking a bite of what was the best thing I have ever eaten in my whole life, or at least in 40 weeks of everything tasting decidedly mediocre. Those brownies, which I\’d keep in the fridge and cut little wedges from all hours of the day and night over the next couple days, were everything. I vowed to refresh them here and give them the adoration they were overdue.

hand-whisked

… Read the rest of belgian brownie cakelets on smittenkitchen.com


(C) smitten kitchen 2006-2012. |

permalink to belgian brownie cakelets | 48 comments to date | see more: Brownies/Blondies, Chocolate, Everyday Cakes, Photo

Leave a Reply

